Reflection: New and Emerging Technologies

Throughout this course, I have been able to learn about new and emerging technologies and how they can be integrated into the learning environment. As I reflect on the learning activity and implementation plans that I have developed, I have become more aware of how new and emerging technologies can play a crucial role in enhancing student learning. The activity and plans that I created have helped me to understand how technology can be used so that I can prepare students to become 21st century learners. I was able to design an activity that incorporated a new technology that can be introduced to students to not only learn the content but to provide potential 21st century learning skills. Trying to promote teacher leadership and change in instructional practices through encouraging others to use new and emerging technologies is evident in the plans that have been written.

The first adjustment that I would like to make is to work on motivating and encouraging fellow colleagues to use new and emerging technologies in their classrooms. Demonstrating the new technology and sharing the many benefits and advantages to them can help to convince them of enhancing teaching processes and student learning. “Developing new methods and new materials takes time and planning. Our focus, however, must be on our students” (Gillard & Bailey, 2007, p. 92). Knowing that using technology can benefit our students should be a good enough reason to take a risk and give the new technology tool a try. Lastly, I would also try to stay positive and supportive while helping to make a change in their teaching and while learning a new technology.

The second adjustment that I would like to make is to stay current and up to date on new and emerging technologies especially those that are relevant to the field of education. One way to do this is to continue to create networks with fellow educators and to read the blogs of those teachers who I have taken this course with. I would also like to use MUVE’s like Second Life and Discovery Education “to receive alerts about upcoming events and professional learning opportunities” (Dembo, 2008, p. 48). By joining a community of educators who have the same vision and ideas on integrating technology and finding new and emerging technologies, we can work together to share and support one another on what technologies can be useful and meaningful in the classroom. Being informed and aware of this topic will allow me to share the latest technology tools with my students and demonstrating them so that they are able to also know of what 21st century learners need to know and be able to do.

The last adjustment I will make is to reflect on my current instructional practices and lesson plans to make revisions and enhancements that will fully benefit student learning and achievement. While thinking back to lessons that have been taught, concepts that have been presented, and assignments that have been assigned, I want to see what changes can be made to integrate technology and what tools would be most efficient and effective. I have come to learn that educational technology can be used in many subject areas and in a variety ways. I want to ensure that I am using technology throughout instruction that will help to address the learning styles and support the learning needs of my students.

Educational technology has become a part of my teaching and the instructional strategies that I incorporate into the classroom. Throughout this course, I was able to learn about new and emerging technologies that can enhance student learning, enrich curriculum, and expand my teaching practices. “Teacher leaders have a positive influence on the entire school as well as the classroom” (Laureate Education, Inc., 2010). I want to become a teacher leader that supports educational technology and create change in student learning and teaching practices with the change agents in mind.

References:

Dembo, S. (2008). Virtual worlds for educators. District Administration, 44(11), 48–52.

Gillard, S., & Bailey, D. (2007). Technology in the classroom: Overcoming obstacles, reaping rewards. The International Journal of Learning, 14(1), 87–93.

Laureate Education, Inc. (Executive Producer). (2010). Program three. Introduction to teacher leadership. [Webcast]. New and emerging technology. Baltimore, MD: Author.

Leave a comment